Takoma Park Mayor, Councilmembers Sworn In

Takoma Park Mayor Kate Stewart and the six members of council, all incumbents, were sworn in Nov. 16.

Stewart, who has been mayor since 2015, defeated Roger Schlegel Nov. 3 by a vote of 4,083 to 2,386.

A total of 6,549 residents cast ballots out of the city’s 13,562 registered voters. According to Takoma Park certified results, Peter Kovar in Ward 1, Cindy Dyballa in Ward 2, Terry Seamens in Ward 4 and Talisha Searcy in Ward 6 were unopposed.

In Ward 3, incumbent Kacy Kostiuk received 1,030 votes to Olly Swyers’ 502. In Ward 5, incumbent Jarrett Smith beat out Sawa Kamara by a vote of 376 to 212.

Karen Bushell, chief deputy for the Montgomery County Circuit Court swore in Stewart, who then proceeded to recite the oath to all six councilmembers for their 2020-2022 terms. The 15-minute swearing-in ceremony took place outdoors in front of the Takoma Park Community Center on Maple Avenue with a large United States flag in the background.

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.
Suzanne Pollak

About Suzanne Pollak

Suzanne is a freelance reporter with Montgomery Community Media. She has over 35 years professional experience writing for newspapers, magazines, non-profit newsletters and the web.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter