Rockville Certifies Election Results, Inauguration Set for Nov. 17

On Tuesday, Rockville’s Board of Supervisors of Elections certified results from last week’s vote by mail city election, confirming preliminary results that return Bridget Donnell Newton to the mayor’s seat for a third term.

A total of 12,287 votes were cast in the Nov. 5 election, which is an increase of 89.96% over the 6,468 ballots cast in 2015.

The certified results reflect that the four incoming councilmembers will be: Monique Ashton, Beryl L. Feinberg, David Myles, and Mark Pierzchala. The Mayor and Council will serve a four-year term.

The final vote totals in the mayor’s race were:

  • Bridget Donnell Newton, 7,600 (63.69 percent)
  • Viginia D. Onley, 4,261 (35.71 percent)

The four winning councilmembers received the following final votes:

  • Ashton, 5,701 (12.59 percent)
  • Feinberg, 5,676 (12.53 percent)
  • Myles, 5,181 (11.44 percent)
  • Pierzchala, 4,822 (10.65 percent)

Nine additional candidates ran for council and received the following final votes:

  • Kuan Lee, 4,578 (10.33 percent)
  • Suzan Pitman, 4,264 (9.41 percent)
  • Cynthia Cotte Griffiths, 3,892 (8.6 percent)
  • James Hedrick, 3,457 (7.63 percent)
  • Brigitta Mullican, 3,278 (7.24 percent)
  • Richard Gottfried, 1,406 (3.1 percent)
  • Charles Littlefield, 1,240 (2.74 percent)
  • Matthew Perkins, 1,043 (2.3 percent)
  • Donald A. Masters, 511 (1.13 percent)

All results, including totals by district, are available at

This was the 66th election in the City of Rockville. The Mayor and Council will be sworn in during an inauguration ceremony at 1 p.m. on Nov. 17 at the F. Scott Fitzgerald Theatre, 603 Edmonston Dr. The public is invited to attend and a reception will follow.

The first meeting of the new Mayor and Council is scheduled for 7 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 18 at City Hall, 111 Maryland Ave.

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter