Members of New Commission Will Study County Redistricting

Montgomery County Council announced the appointment of 11 residents to its new Commission on Redistricting.

In the 2020 general election, voters opted to amend the county charter so that there will be seven districts, each with one representative, and four at-large members. Currently, there are five councilmembers representing a specific district and four at-large members. Therefore, the number of councilmembers will rise from the current nine to 11 and the number of council districts will expand from five to seven.

The new members are Imad Aldean Ahmad, Laura Ard, Mariana Cordier, Keshia Desir, Arthur Edmunds, Valerie Ervin, Bruce Goldensohn, Jason Makstein, Nilmini Rubin, Samuel Statland and David Stein.

The Council chose Edmunds to serve as interim chair and Cordier as interim vice chair of the commission until the group votes to select a permanent chair and vice chair.

Two of the members live in Bethesda, two in Silver Spring, two in Potomac and one each from Gaithersburg, Wheaton, Laytonsville, Chevy Chase and Kensington.

They are expected to have their work completed by Nov. 15.

To read about each member, click here.


Related Post

County Council Creates Commission on Redistricting

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.
Suzanne Pollak

About Suzanne Pollak

Suzanne is a freelance reporter with Montgomery Community Media. She has over 35 years professional experience writing for newspapers, magazines, non-profit newsletters and the web.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter