County Police Chiefs to Discuss Relationship With the Community Thursday

Police chiefs from around the county will come together Thursday from 7 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. for a virtual town hall to discuss the relationship between law enforcement and the community. This discussion was inspired by the peaceful protests around the county.

They will answer questions and discuss the recent death of George Floyd, a man who died while being restrained and handcuffed by a Minneapolis Police Officer. This is the first time that all of the police chiefs from the county jurisdictions and the county sheriff are meeting with the community together.

The officers on the panel include

  • Chief Marcus Jones, Montgomery County
  • Chief Victor Brito, City of Rockville
  • Chief Mark Sroka, City of Gaithersburg
  • Chief John Fitzgerald, Village of Chevy Chase
  • Chief Darryl McSwain, Maryland-National Capital Park Police, Montgomery County Division
  • Chief Antonio DeVaul, City of Takoma Park
  • Sheriff Darren M. Popkin, Montgomery County

The discussion will be hosted by the County’s Office of Human Rights, the Human Rights Commission, and the County Committee Against Hate/Violence. County Executive Marc Elrich and Council President Sidney Katz will make welcome remarks. This event can be viewed live on Facebook and cable television at Comcast/RCN Channel 6, HD Channel 996, or Verizon Channel 30.

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.
Isabel Cleary

About Isabel Cleary

Isabel Cleary was a rising senior at the University of Maryland, majoring in Broadcast Journalism and International Relations. She was a summer 2020 intern at Montgomery Community Media. Follow her on twitter @IsabelCleary


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter